About us

The German Lock and Fittings Museum is the world's only scientifically run museum for locking and security technology.

Exterior view Deutsches Schloss- und Beschlägemuseum

In 2021, the museum will reopen in new premises and for the first time with its own address. Around 1,000 exhibits will be presented on a large permanent exhibition area, reflecting the history of around 4,000 years of locks and fittings. The museum sees itself as a mirror of the cultural identity of the city of Velbert and as an extracurricular place of learning.

Visitors can expect an exciting journey through the past. Interactive and multimedia stations as well as functional models invite you to try them out. You too can learn about the exciting history of locking and security technology.

We look forward to your visit!

Museum building

Villa Herminghaus

Villa Herminghaus was built in 1885 by the foundry owner Carl Tiefenthal senior. The Neo-Renaissance villa was bought shortly afterwards, in 1913, by Emil Herminghaus, an entrepreneur whose castle factory and iron foundry directly adjoined the garden of the property. After the entrepreneur Herminghaus moved away, the house and the ruined factory stood empty until the early 1970s, when it became the property of the city of Velbert. Since the 1980s, part of the city administration with various departments was housed in Villa Herminghaus, such as the cultural office and the library.

In 2001, the Rhineland Office for the Preservation of Historical Monuments placed the entire villa under a preservation order. Inside, many parts of the original interior have been preserved, such as the floor on the ground floor, the stucco ceilings and the double-leaf entrance door.

The DSBM has been located in the Villa Herminghaus since 2020. The entire ground floor is accessible to visitors, as it houses the rooms for special exhibitions, an Escape Room and a museum education room.

Historical exterior photograph of Villa Herminghaus

New building

The new building has a façade of brushed and rectangular metal panels, symbolic of the industrial and metalworking activities. The same applies to the Gründerzeit Villa Herminghaus: it too carries the museum theme in a representative way to the outside world, because as the former residence of a family of factory owners, it represents an important monument to the economic history of the city of Velbert. Both parts of the building contrast positively with each other through their different façade designs. Here, what is hidden inside is already visible from the outside: a bridge between the past and modernity, between former and present-day industry.

The spacious foyer with ticket office and museum shop also offers the possibility for events with seating for up to 70 people.

Exhibition openings, lectures and receptions take place here. The permanent exhibition is located in the actual exhibition hall on 470 square metres. The Villa Herminghaus can be entered through a connecting building.

 

Historical photograph of the museum

History of the museum

From the local history museum to the castle museum

In 1928, a local history museum was founded in Velbert in the so-called Old Mayor's House. Even then, the collection included a large collection of locks and fittings as well as the Wönnemann forge, which is still on display in the museum today.

The German Castle Museum was founded shortly afterwards in 1936. The holdings of the Heimatmuseum formed the basis of the collection, which was systematically expanded in the following decades through purchases and donations. Until its next move, the museum was housed in the basement of the town hall.

In the 1980s, the museum moved to the Forum Niederberg and received a new conception, which was updated again in 2006.

In 2021, the DSBM opened for a second time and received its own address for the first time with its new location.

Team

Emmanuel Giagtzoglou

Scientific volunteer

Rosario Guidara

Building services

Yvonne Gönster

Museum management

Vanessa Schleicher

Voluntary Social Year Culture

Monika Schmidt

Press and Public Relations, General Administration

Sabine von Hagen

Administration, archiving, accounting

Worth knowing

Über uns

Das Deutsche Schloss- und Beschlägemuseum ist weltweit das einzige wissenschaftlich geführte Museum für Schließ- und Sicherheitstechnik.

2021 wird das Museum in neuen Räumlichkeiten und erstmals mit einer eigenen Adresse wiedereröffnet.  Auf einer großen Dauerausstellungfläche werden rund 1.000 Exponate präsentiert, die die Geschichte von rund 4.000 Jahren Schlösser und Beschläge wiederspiegeln. Dabei versteht sich das Museum als Spiegel der kulturellen Identität der Stadt Velbert und als außerschulischer Lernort.

Die Besucherinnen und Besucher erwartet eine spannende Reise durch die Vergangenheit. Dabei laden interaktive und multimediale Stationen sowie Funktionsmodelle zum Ausprobieren ein. Lernen auch Sie die spannende Geschichte der Schließ- undSicherheitstechnik kennen.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

Museumsgebäude

Villa Herminghaus

Die Villa Herminghaus wurde im Jahre 1885 von dem Gießereibesitzer Carl Tiefenthal senior erbaut. Die Villa im Stil der Neorenaissance wurde kurz darauf, im Jahre 1913, von Emil Herminghaus gekauft, einem Unternehmer, dessen Schlossfabrik und Eisengießerei direkt an den Garten des Grundstückes angrenzte. Nach Wegzug des Unternehmers Herminghaus stand das Haus samt der Fabrikruine bis Anfang der 1970er Jahre leer und ging dann in den Besitz der Stadt Velbert über. Seit den 1980er Jahren war ein Teil der Stadtverwaltung mit verschiedenen Abteilungen in der Villa Herminghaus beheimatet, etwa das Kulturamt und die Bücherei.

2001 stellte das Rheinische Amt für Denkmalpflege die gesamte Villa unter Denkmalschutz. Im Innenbereich sind viele Teile der originalen Innenausstattung erhalten, etwa der Fußboden im Erdgeschoss, die Stuckdecken und die zweiflügelige Eingangstür.

Seit 2020 ist das DSBM in der Villa Herminghaus beheimatet. Das gesamte Erdgeschoss ist für die Besucher*innen zugänglich, denn hier sind die Räumlichkeiten für Sonderausstellungen, ein Escape-Room und ein Museumspädagogikraum zu finden.

Neubau

Der Neubau hat eine Fassade aus gebürsteten und rechteckigen Metallplatten, die symbolisch für die industriellen und metallverarbeitenden Aktivitäten stehen. Gleiches gilt für die gründerzeitliche Villa Herminghaus: Auch sie trägt das Museumsthema repräsentativ nach außen, denn als ehemaliger Wohnsitz einer Fabrikantenfamilie stellt sie ein wichtiges Denkmal für die Wirtschaftsgeschichte der Stadt Velbert dar. Beide Gebäudeteile stehen durch ihre unterschiedliche Fassadengestaltung in einem positiven Kontrast zueinander. Hier wird von außen bereits sichtbar, was sich im Inneren verbirgt: Ein Brückenschlag zwischen der Vergangenheit und Moderne, zwischen der früheren und der heutigen Industrie.

Das großzügige Foyer mit Kassenbereich und Museumsshop bietet zugleich die Möglichkeit für Veranstaltungen mit einer Bestuhlung bis zu 70 Personen. Hier finden Ausstellungseröffnungen, Vorträge und Empfänge statt. In der eigentlichen Ausstellungshalle ist auf 470qm die Dauerausstellung zu finden. Durch einen Verbindungsbau kann die Villa Herminghaus betreten werden.

 

Interessantes